What does it mean to drive illegally in Pennsylvania?
In Pennsylvania, it is illegal to drive a vehicle without a valid drivers license. There are three circumstances which are considered driving without a license.
- The individual has a valid drivers license but it is not in his/her possession.
- In this case, the individual is unable to prove that he/she is licensed and therefore eligible to drive. Depending on the circumstance this charge may be dropped if the individual is able to present a valid license to an officer or the judge. However, it is still possible that the individual is subject to a fine.
- The individual has never applied for a license or his/her license is expired.
- When a driver falls into the above category they are subject to a fine of $200. This is unless the individual is able to acquire a valid license by the last day of the proceeding and prove their license had not been expired for over a year.
- The individual’s license was revoked, canceled, or suspended.
- This offense is punishable by up to a $500. If this suspension was due to a DUI the fine for a first-time offense is raised to $1,000.
It is very important to have a valid drivers license when driving a vehicle in Pennsylvania. If you are unsure of the status of your license it is important to contact the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT).
For information on the specific laws about having a license in Pennsylvania Click Here.
What can I do if I am caught driving without a license?
The first step after you or a loved one is charged with a crime concerning driving without a license in the areas surrounding Chester and Delaware County is to contact a reliable law team who can help defend you and protect your interests. The Law Office of Vincent J. Caputo is ready to help you through this process. Please contact us with any questions about driving without a license in Pennsylvania.